Chess Pieces – Chess Terms – ChessKid

Chess pieces can come in all shapes and sizes. But do you know what their names are and how they move?

Different than checkers, chess has six different types of pieces. Does that mean that chess is six times better than checkers? Probably not, since it is even better than that!

Anyway, those pieces are the pawn, the knight, the bishop, the rook, the queen, and the king.

The pawn is the weakest piece of all. It can only move one square forward, or two squares if it is its first move. It can only capture pieces that are one square up and to either side—in other words, diagonally.

The knight is one of the minor pieces and the only one that can jump over other pieces. It moves in an “L” shape.

The bishop is the other minor piece, and can move diagonally as far as it wants.

The rook is a major piece that can move up and down, left and right, as many squares as it wishes.

The queen is another major piece, and it is the most powerful of all! It can move as many squares as it wants in every direction. The queen has the power of a bishop and a rook combined!

The king can also move in any direction, but only one square at a time. The king cannot be captured, but if there is no way for it to escape an attack, the game ends in checkmate.

Do you want to learn more about the chess pieces? Read our article on ChessKid that talks about it.

Do you already know everything you need about them? Then you can relax by playing chess with your friends and with kids from all over the world by signing up for! Sign up for a free account right now and start having fun playing chess!

Sign up for FREE online play:

Do you like watching chess videos? Subscribe to our YouTube Channel and follow us on Twitch. And don’t forget to follow us on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter to receive the latest updates about the best chess website for kids in the world.

Like us on Facebook:
Follow us on Twitter:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *